Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have bounced around between first and third person depending on the content of my writing and the plot of a particular work. I’m watching a movie right now and I notice there are several little “asides” or “vignettes” so that we, the watchers, know what is going on in the world of the movie outside of our main characters’ POV. This is easier to do in movies or theater because we actually see the different characters, hear different voices, see a new setting… In reading, the jumping from one scene to another can be confusing, especially for the challenged reader (I consider myself reading challenged as I am a very slow reader and often have to re-read sentences or even whole pages.) Yes, we can change chapters. But what if there is a very short little something you want the reader to know and it’s not enough for a whole chapter?
What do you think?

