Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Those of you who know me, know I’m a numbers person. I’m an accountant by trade. I’ve always loved numbers. Yes, I’m also a published author but that’s another story.

Recently, I’ve been trying to improve my health and lose weight. It’s been moving along, yet every once in a while, I have a setback. My program requires I weigh every day. I can generally guess what the scale is going to say based on the amount of walking and eating I did the day before. Sometimes I’m surprised.

Today I gained half a pound. I know it’s not much, still I feel like I failed yesterday. I know what I did wrong. I ate something because if I didn’t, I would have had to toss it away and who likes to throw away good food. See, we bought a new refrigerator so I had to clean out the old one. In the freezer, I found a bag of chicken nuggets, half of which were covered in ice within the bag. So I took out the good ones, cooked them, and ate them. Not a great lunch. I think if I had skipped that and just dumped them in the trash it would have made some difference.

The second thing I did wrong was take my afternoon walk too early. When I looked out the window, the sky was cloudy. I thought that would make the walk cooler. Well, the clouds moved and the burning sun was too much for me to handle. I had to return home having taken about half my normal afternoon walk.

So, bad food choices + less movement = gained weight.

Today is another day. Let’s see if I can do better.

