Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Because my manager insisted I take my vacation instead of losing it, I took a few days off that were unplanned. One was the Wednesday before Thanksgiving and Friday was a paid holiday. So here it is Saturday and I feel like it should be Sunday. (Or worse, Monday and I should be on my way to work.)

But here I am at home, up early (actually I was awake between 1-3) and  have some time to do some of the things I don’t normally get too much time to do. Like writing.

I’ve been working on When Demons Hide while waiting for a second editing on Curious Prey. Yes, the ending for CP still eludes me. I’m waiting for the next edit round to have an epiphany. Let’s see how that works! My mind was blocked on Demons for a while, hoping my groove is back.

It’s interesting to me that I can start a story and go gangbusters for a while and then I lose touch with the way things should go. I know an outline would help. I just don’t work that way. I’m more of a fly by the seat of my pants kind of writer. Planning makes me nuts because inevitably, plans change.

How do you write? Do you follow an outline? Do you plan the story and then adjust as you go? Or are you like me and you wing it, hoping you get it right?

